menu

School of Languages Linguistics and Film

Extenuating Circumstances menu

Extenuating Circumstances

This online form should be used by all students of SLLF modules who wish to make a claim for extenuating circumstances relating to missed examinations, assessments, or non-submission of coursework, including extensions to coursework deadlines.

The online system will forward your claim to the appropriate member of staff. If you wish to discuss your claim before or after submitting it, you should contact the relevant staff member (listed below) directly.

For claims made during Semesters 1 and 2, students must complete all parts of this form and submit it - together with appropriate documentary evidence (such as a medical certificate) – before the assessment deadline; claims submitted more than 24 hours after the assessment deadline will be rejected. If you don’t have evidence yet, submit the claim- you’ll have 2 weeks to send the evidence to the Senior Tutor. No claims will be granted without supporting documentary evidence.

For claims made during the Examination Term, students must complete all parts of this form and submit it - together with appropriate documentary evidence (such as a medical certificate) – as soon as possible after the examination, and in any case no less than three working days before the meeting of the SLLF examination board’s Extenuating Circumstances Committee Meeting (the date of which will be posted on the SLLF website). No claims will be granted without supporting documentary evidence.

For further information on what constitutes extenuating circumstances, undergraduate students should in the first instance refer to the SLLF undergraduate handbook available on QM+ http://qmplus.qmul.ac.uk/mod/book/view.php?id=314648   . It is also strongly recommended that students read the Extenuating Circumstances booklet available from the Advice and Counselling Service, and the college’s Academic Regulations (Section 3.73- 3.82) 

Undergraduate (BA) and study abroad programmes:

Comparative Literature Students:

Professor Leonard Olschner

l.m.olschner@qmul.ac.uk    ArtsOne 212, 020 7882 8320

Linguistics students:

Dr David Hall

d.t.hall@qmul.ac.uk      ArtsOne 121,     020 7882 5739

Film Studies students:

Dr Anat Pick

a.pick@qmul.ac.uk   ArtsOne 141a,  020 7882 8290

Modern Languages and Cultures students:

Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan: Dr Elena Carrera

e.carrera@qmul.ac.uk  ArtsOne 127,  020 7882 8429

French: Professor Adrian Armstrong

a.armstrong@qmul.ac.uk   ArtsOne209a,  020 7882 8316

German, Russian: Professor David Adger

d.j.adger@qmul.ac.uk   ArtsOne 111,  020 7882 8269

International Foundation Programme in Humanities and Social Sciences

Mark Holloway, Programme Convenor

m.holloway@qmul.ac.uk Bancroft Building 136,    020 7882 2836 

Pre-Masters Graduate Diplomas

Jennefer Brown, Programme Convenor

jenny.brown@qmul.ac.uk  Bancroft Building 136,  020 7882 2831

Postgraduate (MA) programmes:

MA students should consult the senior tutor for their MA Programme regarding extenuating circumstances:

MA in Anglo-German Cultural Relations: Professor Rüdiger Görner r.goerner@qmul.ac.uk 020 7882 8304
MA in Applied Linguistics and English Language Teaching: Professor Kathryn Richardson kathryn.richardson@qmul.ac.uk 020 7882 2835
MA in Comparative Literature: Dr Shital Pravinchandra s.pravinchandra@qmul.ac.uk 020 7882 5738
MA in Documentary Practice: Term 1: Ms Athena Mandis a.mandis@qmul.ac.uk  020 7882 8788; Term 2:  Dr Steven Eastwood s.eastwood@qmul.ac.uk  020 7882 2992
MA in Film: Dr Libby Saxton e.a.saxton@qmul.ac.uk  020 7882 8328
MA in Linguistics: Dr Hazel Pearson h.pearson@qmul.ac.uk 020 7882 6637
MRES in Linguistics – Dr Erez Levon e.levon@qmul.ac.uk  020 7882 8435

During the Examinations Term, all claims will go directly to Rosine Smyrl, Student Experience Manager r.smyrl@qmul.ac.uk ArtsOne 103a  020 7882 2825.

During the Examinations Term, all claims will go directly to Rosine Smyrl, Student Experience Manager r.smyrl@qmul.ac.uk ArtsOne 103a  020 7882 2825.

  Extenuating Circumstances Application

Return to top